New member looking for help

Hows it going? Im new to open legends in general. I discovered it about a month or 2 ago & im super hooked already. I ordered the books to add to to my collection & im in the process of setting up my first game as a gm. Been a player of d&d, pathfinder, & anything white wolf for a while but couldnt find a system I was comfortable with running until now. However the setting im planning on running my game in needs a little more resource management in the form of stamina & mana on top of keeping track of health. If theres a thread for alternative rules that’d be great seeing as im not very good with this thread stuff to begin with. I was trying to think of some combination of attributes like with how you determine your health to help decide how much mana & stamina a character will have but nothing i come up with feels right so unless anyone has a suggestion i may just have to go with halving toughness & resolve rounding down. Thanks for the feedback in advance.

You failed to mention the setting. That would help immensely.
My gut feeling however is that you are trying to stick a round peg in a square hole. OL design isn’t resource tracking heavy; but the setting you are thinking of is. That’s not a good match.

1 Like

The setting is Legend of Zelda but i dont see how it really matters. Its a magic setting & while i love the idea of “every spell is a cantrip” I dont want for example the gerudo mage to be throwing fireball after firball after fireball every single turn. Im trying to encourage them to think outside the box & not end up being one trick ponies. Which i know for a fact the mage palyer tends to be. The stamina thing just makes sense for my melee fighters too so my goron warrior player does more then just keep knocking the enemy prone.