Wish it was open legend

My brother is starting a D&D campaign tonight (Storm King’s Thunder), and I’m playing a tiefling monk. I love the flavor of having fists, feet, tail, and horns available for fighting, but it’s an objectively bad choice from a stats perspective. This is my first time playing D&D since I started with Open Legend, and it’s really highlighting some of the reasons I love OL.

If I were playing Open Legend, it wouldn’t matter what race I picked, because there’s no such thing as a race, mechanically. If I wanted to throw in some elemental magic, I would just put points in Energy. I wouldn’t have to pick between multiclassing and waiting until level 3 for an underpowered (IMO) class feature. It never really bothered me until I experienced the alternative approach.

P.S. I still expect to have a lot of fun. Torrey, if you ever read this, I enjoy your games; please don’t make rocks fall.

6 Likes

I feel you. My friends are really wanting me to play 5e with them. I feel like my time is better spent working on a live OL campaign I’m planning. It’s sucks because they have no interest in OL and anytime I say something to the effect of “this would be easier/is baked in to OL already” they kinda just shrug it off. Maybe I’ll get them into playing Star Once Fallin somehow so they can be free of their chains.

4 Likes

This is why I only GM any more. My group plays what I give them :stuck_out_tongue:

4 Likes

Basically how I sold OL to my play group:

“You remember all those weird and wonderful character ideas that didn’t quite turn out the way you wanted because of the system you were playing in? If you can manage to fail at making them in Open Legend I’ll be so impressed I’ll write new house-rules to make it work.”

7 Likes

Yeah, in my brother’s case it isn’t that he doesn’t want to play Open Legend. He’s played in my games, and he likes the mechanics. It’s more a question of convenience.