Weapon Damage dice?

(Originally posted on MightyBell by Jacob Croft on 3/24/2017)

I’m completely new to OL so maybe I’m just missing something here but why is there no damage property on the weapons list?

Robert Parker · March 24 at 8:04am · (original reply)
Damage is calculated by your attack roll vs their defense (usually guard). Rolled 25 to hit vs 18 guard =7 damage. Rolled a 19 vs 18 = 1 damage.

Brian Feister · March 24 at 8:12am · (original reply)
So, to Robert’s point, some weapons can cause you to do more damage, but starting at low level, it’s more a question of whether you specialize in attacking or doing something else. A 1st level D&D style “Fighter” might take “Attack Specialization III (Greatsword)”… So, the two-handed property of the Greatsword gives Advantage 1 (increasing your damage since there is only a single roll and this bumps your average roll, and thereby your damage, up 1). Then your Attack Specialization feat gives you Advantage 3.

So you would have the following with a Might score of 5 (your max to start):

And then thanks to +1 Advantage from two-handed style and +3 Advantage from Attack Specialization, total of Advantage 4 would give you:

So, increasing damage is a question of character building :slight_smile: … in this way, you can also choose to have an “Attack Specialization (Fire)” mage that also deals more damage but in a different way.

Jacob Croft · March 24 at 8:51am · (original reply)
Thanks Brian, I definitely need to read through the rules thoroughly when I’m feeling a bit more awake.

I’ve come from playing RuneQuest 6/Mythras which has an incredibly in-depth combat system. The mechanical possibilities are fantastic but it can feel like you’re micromanaging a bit too much sometimes so adjusting to this is a complete change of pace for me.

Brian Feister · March 24 at 10:37am · (original reply)