Two-year DM, sharing the house rules I made for my campaign

Hi all!

So these forums are kind of quiet and I’m not sure exactly what kind of resource this is, but I thought I’d share what I’ve been doing with Open Legend in terms of the campaigns and houserules created, for all who might be interested.

I’ve been playing Open Legend for over 2 years now. I feel confident it’s the best RPG I’ve ever played; second place might be Chaosium/Call of Cthulhu, but it’s not close. It does just so many things that are smart and correct with this lightweight set of rules it leaves me in awe. I love it to death.

My playgroup is ruthless about new RPGs and has wickedly broad preferences, and they all love Open Legend; five of them have dashed off with it for their own spin-off campaigns. The general pattern seems to be, someone showcases a new setting or campaign, it doesn’t go how they want it to, and then, a few months later, they come back with the same campaign in Open Legend rules and it kicks off perfectly. It’s not just flexible; half the time it feels like Open Legend works better for settings than the RPGs that originally produced them!

That said, I’ve applied a lot of houserules over the past two years, to the point it might not be recognizable to an Open Legend veteran. The setting of my campaign is a Rome-like anarchist metropolis called Meretribia; the plot has been a Pynchonesque yarn of spiraling subplots and sprawling conspiracies, where the players have to dig up the whole social rot of the city before they get to fight the real bads. I didn’t want to just lay a vanilla RPG on top of this setting; I wanted to tailor it with some extra work.

I rewrote the rules in this Google doc, which had all the basics for newer players to review. The setting, if you’d like to peruse it, is here. If you want to adopt my homebrew stuff whole cloth or take it for inspiration, feel free. If you’re more interested in the specific changes I made, here they are: