Dual Weapon Multi-Attacks

Hello! I want to discuss the possibility of balancing dual-wielding around making multiple attacks.

Personally, I just feel that dual-wielding is pointless in its current state as it is essentially equivalent to using a two-handed weapon(A part from having a spare one-handed weapon if the user is disarmed.)

My current thought process is this: Dual-wielding characters are allowed to make an additional, self-contained attack roll with Disadvantage for using their off-hand. Additionally, the user would no longer receive Advantage on their main attack roll.

All others rules for dual-wielding would more-or-less remain the same. Using the above as a home rule would allow for one separate attack per weapon and would sacrifice combat potency versus a single target for greater versatility and area of effect.

I’d like to use the same rules above for ranged weapons as well.

Any thoughts on how I could improve on this idea? This is my first time “putting it to paper,” so criticism is very much welcome.

1 Like

Action economy is a huge thing in OL, having more actions shifts balance in encounters.

This is why it is so expensive to get extra actions any other way, both in feat point expense and in other costs (Fatigue + HP loss via battle trance and reckless attack, or lots of disadvantage from multi-attack and haste).

Simply allowing it b/c you are dual-wielding would be very unbalanced.

Weapons are meant to be little additives overall, with the main focus more on a character and their attributes (its why initially in the system there simply weren’t items at all as flavor wise everything was just done via attributes. Attributes represent how well/effective you use what you have).