Death Rolls! Making unconsciousness thrilling

Hello there!

I’ve been playing Open Legend for a few months now and I’ve found the mechanics lovely in so many ways. But coming from D&D 5E there is one thing I’m really missing: Death Saving Throws.

I always found it thrilling to leave your characters fate up to pure chance in the hands of the dice gods. The ever present threat of dice gives your characters life meaning in a way. And when I read that death can only be fixed if a DM allows some sort of quest I was excited but then I got to how to actually die and was a bit dissapointed when I saw that it’s quite difficult to die.
You can only formally die in Open Legend (as far as I know):

• when affected by the death bane (and even then you get three attempts at a 55% chance of survival).
  • If someone deals a finishing blow (which an enemy has to choose to do and has a chance of failure).
  • Through the Fatigued bane (which you need 6 levels in to actually die).

Sorry for the long intro the post starts here:
This is why I created my own rule for it: Death Rolls. With this system I tried to keep the cleanliness and simplicity of the system while still making death threatening yet escapable. Enjoy and feel free to provide as much feedback as you want: