Damage Calculation

So I know that you can increase damage by giving yourself feats that give you higher levels of advantage. But what I was wondering was the difference between weapons doing different damages. I’m trying to run a homestuck themed RP with some friends using Open Legend, and in case you are unfamiliar with homestuck, the characters end up alchemizing new, improved weapons. So I was wondering if there was some additional die that gets added to their damage rolls when they make an improved weapon, or if I should just give them additional levels of advantage for each new weapon. I am new to this so I’m not sure how to make it work, but giving them more advantage seems kind of cumbersome to have them roll X number of d10’s for any sort of damage roll until they increase their attributes. Some guidance would be appreciated! Thank you!

1 Like

Open Legend always uses one-roll combat, there is no different damage dice unless the weapon has its own attacking attribute (for example, a sword of shadows might have Entropy 6 that it can use to attack). The difference between weapons is way more interesting than just doing more damage, you can give them all kinds of different properties; different attack methods, different banes, or whatever special rules you like. Everything you need for creating new weapons is in the weapons table, Special Equipment chapter and the banes list.

As a side note, don’t underestimate giving more advantage to simulate more damaging weapons. It’s a powerful effect, and everyone loves getting to roll big fistsfull of dice every so often (the increased chance of explosions doesn’t hurt either). Just don’t give too much, each level of advantage is like a +2 modifier in D&D; the Deadly property is limited to a max of 3 to prevent it from getting out of hand.

to add to this, there is no “Damage Roll”