Content Adaptation - May I ask for your help?

Hello everyone.
I’m Arthur and I’ve been playing RPG for three years now. I finally decided to GM for the first time and I enjoyed it, so now I’m trying to get some people that I know into playing too .

Some of my friends don’t know what RPG or D&D are so I decided to get things they knew about, books, movies, series and adapt to a game. I started with the Harry Potter scenario and I’m using the Open Legend system to simulate the lack of rules to use magic in the scenario. I’m a D&D player mostly and the loose rules around the magic is giving me a hard time.

My problems:

1. I can’t rank all the spells. Some spells I can using the Bane and Boon system but other spells from the scenario conflict with the rules.

2. I don’t know if it’s my fault, but to me since the rules are simplified the spell system lose some of it’s ‘‘magic’’ (no pun intended).

3. Because in the scenario you can do almost everything with just a flick and some words, when I tried to adapt the scenario magics to the rules I realized that most are the same. Basically you just say what you want in latim and that’s it.

I wanted to do this scenario because it’s a common ground between all the people involved and some of them are real fans, so I’m trying to keep almost as possible identical to the books not just do a D&D Spellcaster only campaign or something like that. I know I’m asking to much.