Basic spell conversions

Hello! I’m relatively new to Open Legend (picked up the Backer Kit back in November, had looked before) and I’m starting up a campaign. The problem I’m currently having is that while I love the freedom that OL gives, I don’t know where to start with spells. Maybe I haven’t read things well enough, maybe I missed something, I don’t know.

So, before I go on, if there’s already a place something like this exists, I’ll be thrilled to use it. If not, well, maybe here’s a good place?

Regardless, I thought it might be nice to have some basic spell conversions from other systems. For instance, how would you put together a Magic Missile? Or a Fire Ball?

So between my 4 players there’s the desire for the following spells, initially. I just haven’t been able to figure out how to make them work:

• Fire ball (area effect, energy)
  • Magic missile (energy, traditional MM always hits)
  • Fairy fire (I think that’s it…) (enchants target with a glow)
  • Grasping vines

I think that would be enough to get me started, because i think a few examples would help me figure the whole thing out. But again, maybe it would be nice to collect a few more of these.

Thanks so much! And thanks to everyone who has contributed to OL, both here and in the official rules (@brianfeister, I’m looking at you!).

3 Likes

Hey there redbeardcreator! Welcome to the community!

I’ve got a secret for you that I think your players will love:

They can cast all of those spells with their basic Attribute rolls!

• Declaring that they want to make a Fireball would be an Energy roll with Area Attack modifier (disadvantage based on the size and shape of the attack).

• Magic Missile could also be a generic Energy Attack roll. If they want multiple targets, use Multi-Targeting rules, and if they want to hit the same target multiple times, they can take the Multi-Attack Feat.