Balancing Encounters for a Character with Sentinel III and Battlefield Retribution

Hey, I have a few questions/concerns about encounter design and balancing in my campaign. It requires a bit of explanation, so I apologize for the incoming wall of text. ^^"

My campaign that I have been running for about three years is solwly (very slowly) coming to a close and recently I have been struggling with designing encounters that are challenging, but not deadly. The main issue is one of the player characters that is heavily specialized in defend actions. He has defensive reflexes I, a shield with defensive 3, and most importantly the battlefield retribution and sentinel III feats. This build was already quite strong, but he also obtained a legendary item that grants him unfailing for defend action rolls. Obtaining this item took a lot of time and effort in the game and thus I felt such a reward was justified (and I still mostly feel that way).

My main problem is threefold:

1. All encounters basically revolve around this character. If the enemies manage to inacapcitate him or knock him out, the rest of the party goes down pretty fast. If he doesn’t get knocked out, he just negates most enemy attacks while also defeating the enemies.

2. The other characters in the party are only partly focused on combat. They would be able to hold their own in most average fights, but I feel they are just hopelessly outclassed by this one character. The players don’t mind this that much, but I feel like they don’t really have an impact on fight other than the problem character having to use up his defend actions to protect them. Especially in terms of damage this character severely outclasses the others. Even the AOE mage deals less damage than him.