A question to experienced dm's

Hey, im lexy, im new to DMing and want to start a game of open legend with my group. Now, i was really impressed with the concept of ‘same rules diffrent stories’, but i came to think lately that if you make a unique character with the feats provided, wont the creative abillities we make up would accomplish the same result and effects?

Hi Lexy! I might be misunderstanding your question here, but it seems like you’re asking if there are multiple ways to describe how characters achieve the same Banes/Boons/Feats. The answer is yes, and that’s exactly the point of Open Legend!

There are so many different combinations of Feats and Attributes that you don’t really need to worry about ending up with similar characters, and even if you do then different descriptions can make them feel very different to play. In one of the games I’m running at the moment, I have two characters with the Defensive Reflexes feat. One of them uses solid beams of lights to create shields, which she mainly uses to protect her allies; Defensive Reflexes represents the power of her shields. The other is a speedy teleporter who is able to dodge any attacks that are aimed at her and Defensive Reflexes represents her reaction speed. Even though they have the same ability, it feels very different to the players, and the rest of their abilities are different anyway so they don’t feel like they’re doing the same thing at all.

I hope this helps, do let us know if I wasn’t clear, or if I didn’t answer your question properly. Our very helpful community would be happy to assist.

1 Like

Alright, it was indeed what i intended to ask, but thing is that it sounds like even though the usage of abillities is diffrent the result is the same, which takes out the uniqueness we are trying to achieve. Maybe youre right and its more about using the tools everyone got (the feats) in order to create somethinh unique